[SOLVED] (Newbie) Need Help With VLANs

Upstage2070

Nov 21, 2023
Hi,

I'm fairly new to Proxmox VE, and been wanting to use Tailscale for external access to my home services. I currently have VLANs setup on my network, which is working fine. I wanted to put Tailscale on a new Proxmox VM that is under a VLAN seperate from the rest of the other VMs. I wanted to do this so I can make services for friends and family, and out of abundance of caution, want to separate it completely via VLAN.

However, I am having issues with getting VLANs to work in Proxmox VE. I followed a bunch of tutorials online, and did the exact steps, but it doesn't seem to work. Specifically, when I start my VM, log in, and run ip a it does not seem to be assigned any IP addresses (see screenshot ip-a-results.jpg), and cannot connect to the internet. Only way it gets IP and internet connection is when I disable the VLAN aware tickbox, which doesn't help since I want it to be on a different subnet.

I also made sure I clicked Apply changes when updating the network settings, and reboot the host machine that Proxmox is installed on, but still no joy. I'm not sure what I am doing wrong and would like some advice on how to get this up and running.

I attached some screenshots of my current network settings in Proxmox VE. Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• bridge-settings.jpg
    bridge-settings.jpg
    29.3 KB · Views: 31
  • node-network.jpg
    node-network.jpg
    47.2 KB · Views: 30
  • vlan-settings.jpg
    vlan-settings.jpg
    41.9 KB · Views: 30
  • VM-network-settings.jpg
    VM-network-settings.jpg
    22.6 KB · Views: 27
  • ip-a-results.jpg
    ip-a-results.jpg
    69.7 KB · Views: 28
Without a router serving your VLANs subnet there will be no DHCP server to ask for an IP/gateway/DNS. And no gateway to route between your VLAN and the internet.