Newbie Home User - How To Setup Storage

Rob Jarratt

May 10, 2024
I am a Proxmox newbie and also not an experienced Linux administrator. I just want to host a few VMs on a new machine I have set up at home for this purpose, so nothing enterprise grade, just a standard consumer desktop machine with a single NVMe drive.

I installed Proxmox, accepting all the defaults. I then wanted to import a VM from my old HyperV hypervisor but found I didn't have the disk space to copy over the files to my new hardware. This turned out to be because the bulk of the space on the SSD seems to be in a logical volume that, apparently, I can't access as if it was a normal disk volume.

I think the reason I couldn't access the logical volume as if it was a normal file structured disk volume is because it is a "thin" volume. I guess there could be a number of ways to fix this, assuming I am right. I would love to know which is the best strategy. I tried the last one and failed.

1. Install Proxmox with different storage options in the first place. If so what would be sensible for a very simple home setup?
  2. Find a way to copy the VHDs to the thin volume, is there a way to do this?
  3. Try to make the thin volume have a file structure. I tried this and failed. Below I explain what I did.
What I did to try to change the pve-data volume was the following:

I attempted to format the volume using the command:
Code:
mkfs.ext4 /dev/pve/data

I then added the following line to /etc/fstab

Code:
/dev/pve/data /data ext4 0 1

If I mount after booting then this works and I appear to have a file structured directory at /data. But if I attempt to reboot the machine with this line in fstab it times out and drops to a command prompt for me to repair the configuration. I have to remove the line in fstab, the machine will boot successfully and then I can mount afterwards.