New Setup Advice - Medium Sized Setup (so much to consider)

Unboxed6512

Sep 23, 2023
Starting to build a new system, first time using Proxmox. I have a lot of experience with linux/zfs/TrueNas/Unraid and am comfortable with the cli and programming in general. This is going to be a single instance home server, primarily for NAS (via smb and nfs) with some experimentation in various VMs (i.e. HAOS) as needed. No gaming or other high CPU/GPU requirements.

I think my primary goal is to ensure I have plenty of "sanity" around the config, the disk setup and ensuring I can backup the config to do a re-build if needed. I want good disk redundancy (i.e. disk failure protection) and I will backup my critical data and configs offsite with something like duplicacy in docker. Initially, I was planning on doing everything on bare metal with Debian 12 (ZFS 1+0, ansible to manage the OS/Docker/NFS/SMB config) as I don't mind cli operations and devops tools at all. Now, the lure of Proxmox has me second guessing that design.

I was thinking of running proxmox like this:
  • zfs mirrored boot hard drives, space for ISOs, etc.
  • zfs mirrored nvme drives used to support VM boot disks
  • proxmox managed zfs 1+0 pool of all of the other disks (roughly 12) attached to LSI HBAs (the hardware would not be passed into any VM)
  • run a VM with Debian 12 using LVMs that mount boot disks from the proxmox managed nvme pool and the rest of space needed allocated to the vm from the proxmox larger disk pool
  • I should also mention there are 2xSSDs on that HBA, but not sure what to do with them in this setup at the moment.

Pros:
  • All NFS/SMB/Docker admin and content backups will be run from the Debian VM. I'm comfortable with that as I can back most things up from a container in that VM
  • All ZFS management will be from Proxmox which seems to have a decent UI but is backed by a good cli
  • The Debian LVMs can be easily expanded as I add more (or different sized) disks in proxmox