[SOLVED] Network Interfaces are all down. eno1 DNE

soreph

Nov 3, 2023
Proxmox was working fine until my apartment's internet went down. Once it came back up I couldn't use the web gui no matter what I did.
The entire server is now down.

One more odd thing I've noticed is that it says Bridge port eno1 does not exist even though it has worked fine for well over a month.

I'm pretty new at this so I'm at quite a loss. Here are some photos: E3077CF9-9DEA-4622-8848-F4613EFB030B_1_102_o.jpeg2DF965E6-0578-491F-9810-0C300C256527_1_105_c.jpegC822F7F0-0366-4458-9C6C-54C5093BAFC6_1_105_c.jpeg1C127739-D7A7-481E-B533-6DFF600F83E0_1_105_c.jpeg
Now 03 19:50:50 pve networking (759]: error: vmbro: bridge port eno1 does not exist Nov 03 19:50:50 pve /usr/sbin/ifup(759]: error: vmbro: bridge port eno1 does not exist Mov 03 19:50:50 pve /us/sbin/ifup[759]: warning: vmbro: apply bridge ports settings: bridge configuration failed (missing ports) Nov 03 19:50:50 pve networking[759]: warning: vmbro: apply bridge ports settings: bridge configuration failed (missing parts)

Hey,
it seems that your network device changed it's name between boots, unless you added one after installation.
This usually occurs when adding pci devices, even if it's not a network device. Just had that this weekend when adding a sata controller
and suddenly my networking was gone. There are probably other things that could trigger a rename, but I'm out of my depths there.

Since eno1 is gone and enp0s31f6 is new, I would suggest replacing all instances of eno1 and see if that helps.

Reactions: soreph
Hi soreph,

first - pveversion would be helpful

As Folke Gleumes wrote: your interface has been renamed.

Please check the pve-docu for the solution:
https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Network_Configuration

<<<
Warning It’s discouraged to use the traditional Debian tools ifup and ifdown if unsure,
as they have some pitfalls like interupting all guest traffic on ifdown vmbrX but not