[SOLVED] Network best practice?

baron164

Jan 16, 2024
I am new to Proxmox and I'm setting up my first server. So far the only thing I'm confused on is the networking. I currently have a linux bridge (vmbr0) and a linux bond (bond0). Do I need both or can I get away with just having the bond? My host has 4x 1gb nics and I want to bond all four of them. I'm not able to add the network gateway to both so I assume I can only have one or the other. I included a screenshot of what I have so far. Ideally I would have all four nics on the bond and call it a day. I'm just not sure if I need the bridge or not and what would happen if I removed it.

1705418407765.png

A bridge is needed for sharing an interface with multiple guests - so yes, you probably will need one. You can find a good introduction on the fundamental building blocks of linux networking here [1]. That might help you.

Having two physical interfaces on the same bridge (as shown on your screenshot) is almost never what you want. If you want to add multiple interfaces to a bridge, you should bond them beforehand otherwise you run into the risk of loops and other undesired behaviour.

For bonds we usually recommend using either LACP (802.3ad) or active-backup. balance-rr, like LACP, needs dedicated switch support. You need to make sure that the switch is properly configured before using it. Additionally it has the downside that packets can arrive out-of-order leading to TCP retransmits. The downside of LACP is that you can only use one interface per connection which means that the maximum speed for one connection is 1 GBit.

Is this a single server or do you plan on clustering? If you plan to create a cluster it might make sense to use the multiple NICs for different networks: corosync, management, vm traffic, ...

[1] https://developers.redhat.com/blog/...on-to-linux-interfaces-for-virtual-networking