Live Migration / ZFS / Discard

Mar 24, 2024
Hello everyone.

A little bit of background
I'm quite new to the Proxmox world - I'm coming from the VMWare world and been implementing vSphere solutions as a systems engineer for over 15 years now. So I'm pretty familiar with virtualization. Due to the Broadcom fallout we've decided to abandon VMWare and use Proxmox from now on. I've been playing with Proxmox VE for the past month and I'm pretty happy with it. Now we are looking at clustering and migration. This is where I'm struggling. I've searched the interwebs and these forums but I can't find a answer / explanation for what I'm seeing happeing.

The System
We are running the following configuration:
- 2x HPE Proliant DL 380 Gen 10 Servers (one Node with 1 CPU and 128GB RAM, one Node with 2 CPUs and 256 GB RAM)
- Both systems are using local ZFS-RAID10 storage on 6x600GB HDDs. The disks are backed by a RAID controller in HBA mode.
- The two nodes are connected to the management/vm network with a 4x1GB Linux Bond and to the SAN network with 1x10GB
- One node is on 8.1.4 (with a subscription) the other on 8.1.5 (without a subscription) - both are reporting to have no updates available.

The Problem
I've got a Test VM running on Node1 and want to (live) Migrate it to Node2 / and back again.
The disk attached to the VM is using the VirtIO SCSI Single controller and with "Write Back" caching and Discard and SSD Emulation turned on. The disk is 100GiB big (thin provisioned - actual usage 33GiB)
When I migrate the VM the process takes 43Minutes. The target Node will use 80%-95% CPU for a long time and no network traffic is beeing generated, sitting at "drive mirror is starting for drive-scsi0".