KVM virtualisation configured, but not available.

gaz_c

Mar 5, 2022
Hi!

So I'm new to using Proxmox and apologies if this question has been asked many times before but i'm really struggling to resolve an issue that i currently getting on my server that i've recently set up.

After creating a new VM (with no matter what config) I am getting this message when trying to start the VM:
TASK ERROR: KVM virtualisation configured, but not available. Either disable in VM configuration or enable in BIOS.

I've done so much googling, many results lead back to this forum of others with similar scenarios, some of the questions back to the OP ask what the results are from some commands like dmesg, etc, which i've tried to run which have unfortunately led me nowhere!

Steps i've already taken
  • Reset BIos
  • Checked bios to ensure VT-d and cpu virtualisation is enabled
  • I've even tried unchecking the kvm hardware virtualisation in the options of the vm
  • lsmod | grep kvm returns nothing.
  • ls -l /etc/modprobe.d returns
    Code:
    total 12
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root  51 Feb 21 20:47 iommu_unsafe_interrupts.conf
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root  25 Feb 21 18:54 kvm-amd.conf
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 171 Nov 24 17:32 pve-blacklist.conf
    I dont know why there is a kvm-amd.conf should this be kvm-intel.conf?!
in /etc/modules:
Code:
vfio
vfio_iommu_type1
vfio_pci
vfio_virqfd

Could I be missing something here like a kvm module for the intel processor? or is the proxmox server not seeing the cpu vt-d being enabled?

Hopefully this is enough for someone to help me troubleshoot this!

Thank you in advance.

Cheers
Garry

Did you verify that your CPU supports VT-d and virtualization support? Both your mainboard/BIOS and CPU need to support it. If just your BIOS supports it but your CPU not, then you can set whatever you want in the BIOS and it won't work. Updating the BIOS might also be a good idea if that is a known bug that got fixed meanwhile.