KVM Migration Question

dal.01

Jan 6, 2012
Hello all.

Every time that I have posted here, I have received awesome help and everyone was very kind. I am back with another question for you guys, Im pretty new at virtualization so be kind if this seems like an easy answer to some.

I have just built a new PM box (PM_NEW IP:10.10.1.7). This box is completely separate from another PM box, but on the same network. I have an already running (PM_OLD IP:10.10.1.250) that I need to take a KVM from and move it to PM_NEW. Is this possible? Is there an easy way to do this? Do you guys need anymore information from me?

Again thanks for all the help.

running into an issue.

here is the log file of the attempted vzdump. Any help or pointers would be appreciated.

Mar 15 15:25:01 INFO: Starting Backup of VM 101 (qemu)Mar 15 15:25:01 INFO: running
Mar 15 15:25:01 INFO: status = running
Mar 15 15:25:01 INFO: backup mode: stop
Mar 15 15:25:01 INFO: ionice priority: 7
Mar 15 15:25:02 INFO: stopping vm
Mar 15 15:35:02 INFO: wait failed - got timeout
Mar 15 15:35:02 ERROR: Backup of VM 101 failed - command 'qm --skiplock shutdown 101 && qm wait 101 600' failed with exit code 255

you VM seems to ignore acpi shutdown from the backup tool.

stop your VM and try again.

Thanks Tom for the quick reply. The above error log was an attempt to do a vzdump while the server was shut off. While waiting for a reply I tried a vzdump again, only this time I selected snapshot and got this error:

Mar 15 15:35:02 INFO: Starting Backup of VM 101 (qemu)Mar 15 15:35:03 INFO: running
Mar 15 15:35:03 INFO: status = running
Mar 15 15:35:03 INFO: backup mode: stop
Mar 15 15:35:03 INFO: ionice priority: 7
Mar 15 15:35:03 INFO: stopping vm
Mar 15 15:45:03 INFO: wait failed - got timeout
Mar 15 15:45:04 ERROR: Backup of VM 101 failed - command 'qm --skiplock shutdown 101 && qm wait 101 600' failed with exit code 255

alright, another update.