[SOLVED] iSCSI + Discard + SSD emulation?

AngryAnt

Mar 13, 2021
I am currently migrating some VM disks from internal drives to multipath iSCSI. I am new to iSCSI and so am wondering about best practices for PVE VM disks hosted on there.

By default I have all VMs set to Discard and SSD emulation, but I am now wondering if those settings make sense on iSCSI.

In particular I just started formatting an xfs file system in a VM on a disk hosted on iSCSI and it is just sitting there on "Discarding blocks...". Is this just par for the course or am I missing some obvious configuration consideration in this scenario?

Discard is nothing you enable and it works. Without proper backend storage support, it will not work or not as planned.

SSD emulation is just an optimizer setting for the disk scheduler and totally fine if you just set it to SSD emulation. It will not try to optimize writes with respect to the read/write head, because there is seldomly just one.

SSD emulation is just an optimizer setting for the disk scheduler and totally fine if you just set it to SSD emulation. It will not try to optimize writes with respect to the read/write head, because there is seldomly just one.
Excellent. Seems like keeping this on for iSCSI is quite relevant, given how comparatively well it handles random read/write.

Discard is nothing you enable and it works. Without proper backend storage support, it will not work or not as planned.
Not entirely following here.

The file system (btrfs) on the storage host (Synology box) supports discard.

So are you saying that is going to work as expected or that the PVE/Debian iSCSI implementation needs special configuration for it to work / does not support it at all?

The file system (btrfs) on the storage host (Synology box) supports discard.

So are you saying that is going to work as expected or that the PVE/Debian iSCSI implementation needs special configuration for it to work / does not support it at all?