I can't seem to have shared template

karnalta

Jan 25, 2024
Hello all,

I am fairly new to Proxmox so forgive me if I am on a completely wrong path.

I have three nodes into a cluster and a shared NFS storage (truenas).

I have made a template VM on host1 and have successfully moved the disk on the NFS share.

But, when I want to clone the template with as target host2 or host3, it tell me they are not valid target.

What am I missing ?

Thank for your help.

Can you provide:
- pveversion
- qm config [templateID]
- exact error from the clone task , or run CLI with appropriate options provide output of that

Blockbridge : Ultra low latency all-NVME shared storage for Proxmox - https://www.blockbridge.com/proxmox

Sorry for the late reply.

All 3 nodes are in 8.1.3.

Here is the template .conf :

Code:
agent: 1
boot: order=scsi0
cipassword: $5$hB4DfLjU$qCfNFiEJOJRry2uiI5rBqe4BbOgazJqnU.98Xx/yReA
ciuser: dimitri
cores: 1
cpu: x86-64-v2-AES
ide0: local:801/vm-801-cloudinit.qcow2,media=cdrom
ide2: none,media=cdrom
ipconfig0: ip=dhcp,ip6=dhcp
memory: 2048
meta: creation-qemu=8.1.2,ctime=1711534485
name: kn-ubuntu-22-04-template
net0: virtio=BC:24:11:D9:12:B5,bridge=vmbr0,firewall=1
numa: 0
ostype: l26
scsi0: truenas-exchange:801/base-801-disk-0.raw,iothread=1,size=16G
scsihw: virtio-scsi-single
serial0: socket
smbios1: uuid=3af500db-03ce-4073-ba05-f3a5029e9f9b
sockets: 1
template: 1
vga: serial0
vmgenid: 94318499-8380-4f33-98c5-14f71b0b5d6f

And here is the error :

proxmox.jpg

The only thing I see is that the cloudinit qcow2 image is on the local storage of node 1. But it seem that cloudinit disk cannot be moved ?

Thank for help.

EDIT :

I think I solved my issue. I have moved manually the cloudinit qcow2 image to the shared storage and edited the template conf file (as it was not possible to do it by UI) and now I can clone it on any host.

Last edited: