How do I find the DHCP IP address for a container?

thusband

Jun 30, 2022
I'm fairly new to Proxmox so am setting up some containers and VMs. I set up Fedora in a container with a DHCP and not static IP address. Now how do I find that address so I can access it in my browser? Is that something I do in the console?

Searching some previous threads I came across this. Does this have to do with gaining the IP address?

Thanks

If dns is working
Code:
ping hostname
. If not open the vm and find the ip. Then set it reserved in dhcp. Or static.

If you log in to your routers webUI there usually also should be a list with leases its dhcp server had allocated.

If dns is working
Code:
ping hostname
. If not open the vm and find the ip. Then set it reserved in dhcp. Or static.
Sorry, you say open the vm? This is a container. I must be missing something.

I could start looking through my router but there's a bunch of IP addresses and determining what goes with what is difficult. I thought there would be some text after the container was created saying what the address would be.

edit: Looks like the name of the container shows up in the router so it's easy to identify. However the IP address doesn't connect. What port should it be on?

Last edited:
Hostname would be the name you gave the vm without the quotes. You could also open the console for the vm and login and enter
Code:
ip address

Last edited:
Hostname would be the name you gave the vm without the quotes. You could also open the console for the vm and login and enter
Code:
ip address
What I get is:
Code:
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host
2: eth0@if11: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000