HDD configuration

whytewolves

Apr 11, 2024
I am new to Proxmox and all Virtual Environments, I am also fairly new to RAID configurations. I had a server which previously was a Windows 11Pro, running 4 20TB HDD's in a RAID 5 serving movies and the like to PLEX and Jellyfin. Wasn't an actual server other than this.
As of yesterday, I got my Proxmox installed and all 12 drives installed, the 4 20TB mentioned above, 2 10TB, 1 8TB, 1 4TB HDD's and 4 4TB SSD's. the plan is this: I need to set up PiHole and an Adblocker running a VPN of some sort for all connections through each VM, container, etc... And I am looking to take those 4 20TB HDD's and reuse them for the movie server as they already have the files RAIDed on them. How do I save that information and reconfigure them into this environment without losing the information on them???
Everything else I'd like to do is being put to end after this is addressed as my granddaughter needs her Bluey. LOL

Attachments

• Screenshot 2024-04-12 141617.png
    Screenshot 2024-04-12 141617.png
    37.1 KB · Views: 3
If I was you I would just straight up give (passthrough) the 4 20TB HDD's to the VM.
To do this, you would want to read this wiki:
https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Passthrough_Physical_Disk_to_Virtual_Machine_(VM)
Thank you for this information, I appreciate it. I have a couple issues with this though. LOL, I don't know any of this. I have never used linux based anything and do not know "apt install lshw" or whatever. I don't know how to SSH or access anything from where I am on this Windows based PC to the new Proxmox server. Any and all information with a detailed explanation of how to do whatever it may be, would be greatly appreciated.

Unfortunately there are only two ways do this: (That I can think of.)

Know Debian/Proxmox VE terminal/CLI and do passthrough. (Passthrough can only be done via CLI)