[SOLVED] GUI Inaccessible

zayspringer

Jul 27, 2022
Hi All,

I am EXTREMELY new to this, & am attempting to use Proxmox to run Home Assistant on an old PC. I followed all the steps & successfully downloaded Proxmox to my PC. I’ve gotten to the login screen telling me to input the HTTPS link into my web browser but am not able to access the Web GUI. I’ve attempted from 2 different PCs on both Chrome & Edge, as well as on Safari on iOS, all to no avail.

“This site can’t be reached. MyIP took to long to respond” is the error message on chrome.

I’m a bit beyond my depth here but any help would be greatly appreciated.

P.S I’ve read all other threads on this topic & was unable to find a solution that worked for me.

Let me guess. Insrtead of a free IP of your routers subnet outside of the DHCP-Range you used the default 192.168.100.2 as the IP for proxmox, which isn't part of your routers subnet, so it can't be reached? Or you forgot to also type in the ":8006" at the end of the URL? Or you typed in "http:" instead of "https:"?
Its usually on of these three if the webUI isn't accessible after a successful new installation.

Last edited:
If your router (and other computers in your home network) are not in 192.168.100.0/24 (i.e., don't have IP addresses that start with 192.168.100.), you cannot connect to it (via the default routing).

Please connect a keyboard and display to the Proxmox host. Login to the console and edit the IP address in /etc/network/interfaces (using the nano editor for example) to one that is inside (and unused by anything else) your local network. Reboot the Proxmox host and then try to connect to the new IP address.

Can you check your router to see what address range it uses for DHCP? What is the IP address of another computer on your local network (which can help to guess)?