full-upgrade fails: tries to uninstall proxmox-ve

Aug 2, 2022
Hello Proxmox devs & Co,
i have a valid subscription, but am shamingly still using Proxmox v6.4, so I wanted to upgrade it. First full-upgrade, then to 7.x.

I ran into a problem after having accumulated a few updates on 6.x. Proxmox' apt-full-upgrade tells me that it wants to uninstall proxmox-ve:
After installing afew of the upgradable packages manually (and setting them to auto-installed afterwords again) it boils down to some packages that produce the error:
Code:
apt-get install python-six  # or python2-minimal, etc.
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree... Done
Reading state information... Done
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
  bsdmainutils cpp-8 fdisk libbind9-161 libboost-atomic1.67.0 libboost-iostreams1.67.0 libboost-program-options1.67.0
  libboost-regex1.67.0 libboost-system1.67.0 libboost-thread1.67.0 libdns-export1104 libdns1104 libdns1110 libevent-2.1-6
  libgfortran5 libipset11 libirs161 libisc-export1100 libisc1100 libisc1105 libisccc161 libisccfg163 libisl19 libjs-sphinxdoc
  libjs-underscore libjson-c3 liblwres161 libnftables0 libprocps7 libprotobuf17 libpve-cluster-api-perl libpython3.7
  libpython3.7-minimal libpython3.7-stdlib proxmox-archive-keyring proxmox-mini-journalreader pve-kernel-5.4.162-1-pve
  pve-kernel-5.4.189-2-pve pve-kernel-helper pve-lxc-syscalld python3-asn1crypto python3.7 python3.7-minimal usb.ids
Use 'apt autoremove' to remove them.
The following packages will be REMOVED:
  criu libpython-stdlib lxc-pve proxmox-ve pve-container pve-ha-manager pve-manager python python-cephfs python-certifi
  python-chardet python-configparser python-future python-idna python-ipaddr python-minimal python-prettytable python-protobuf
  python-rados python-rbd python-requests python-talloc python-urllib3 qemu-server
The following packages will be upgraded:
  python-six