fstab mount fails on boot but works with mount -a [workaround provided]

scyta

Feb 14, 2024
Hi everyone. Very noob here, first time linux.
On my proxmox host , in fstab i'm having this line "/dev/vg_4tb/lv_4tb /mnt/4tb_data ext4 defaults 0 0"
I was testing this with 'mount -a', and it mounts properly,
BUT
on reboot my system doesn't boot with these error messages:
1 LOGICAL V. IN VG "VG_4TB" NOW ACTive. > this one i suspect that the system can see my device
but then next:
timed out waiting for device dev_vg_4tb...
Dependency failed for mnt-4tb_data.mount
Dependency failed for local-fs.target
no matter what i do.
after all i have created a script (with the help of chatgpt) to mount the drive manually after boot, but i don't like this idea on long term.
Could you help me out?

---------------------------------------------SOLUTION------------------------------------------
It seems that many people have this problem in this forum, weird that there is no official solution (a least I haven't found any)
My idea is to create a service, then run this service at sartup. In my case my drive is 4tb, I will adjust the naming accordingly

First create the service:
nano /etc/systemd/system/data4tb.service

Then inside of this file:
[Unit]
Description=Mount 4TB Data

[Service]
Type=oneshot
ExecStart=/bin/mount /dev/4tb_vg/4tb_data /mnt/data4tb

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target

>>save / close
systemctl daemon-reload

>>enable the service
systemctl enable data4tb.service

hope this help someone

Last edited:
I was messing around with this a bit more and I found that by mounting the drive in /etc/fstab with UUID rather than the label or path, it works. I originally figured it shouldn't make a difference since the path wasn't changing after reboots, but UUID mounting just seems to be more reliable in general. Might be worth trying @scyta

About