Fiber Channel Storage

dennis_ece

Apr 29, 2010
Hi to everybody,

I'm new with Proxmox VE. I already tested a 5 proxmox cluster nodes and 1 iscsi-target storage using my dell1950(pve) and x346(iscsi-target). I successfully done live migration and its fantastic. :p

pve-manager: 1.5-9 (pve-manager/1.5/4728)
running kernel: 2.6.32-2-pve
proxmox-ve-2.6.32: 1.5-7

Please help me with this.

I'm planning another setup using 3 x dl360 g7 with 2 HBA each for multipath, 3 clustered proxmoxve each connected with FC Storage. I will not use iscsi-target but direct attached FC on each dl360. Can this setup will work with live-migration enabled?

I think this will work using OCFS2. But I would like to ask everyone first.

Thanks!

Den

Hi,

The best choice i think, is using raw disk access over LVM.
You will have better performances and with LVM you can easily resize / backup your VM disk.

Best regards,

Hi,
like MrJack wrote - it's runs without trouble with lvm-storage.
I have a 2-node cluster with serveral FC-Luns (on 3 raids) with lvm-storage which run very well.
In this case i don't use multipath but i have test it some month before.

Udo

Thanks for the reply. :D

Hi Udo/MrJack,

So it means its possible with live migration. How do I suppose to do that? Please give me some major guidelines.

Thanks again.

Den

Thanks for the reply. :D

Hi Udo/MrJack,

So it means its possible with live migration. How do I suppose to do that? Please give me some major guidelines.

Thanks again.

Den
Hi Den,
quick example without multipath (for multipath search in the forum):
Code:
proxmox1:~# lsscsi 
[2:0:0:8]    disk    ES-6600S ES-6600S-VOL#009 R001  /dev/sdd
[2:0:1:0]    disk    HITACHI  DF600F           0000  /dev/sde
[2:0:1:1]    disk    HITACHI  DF600F           0000  /dev/sdf
[2:0:2:17]   disk    ES-6600S ES-6600S-VOL#017 R001  /dev/sdg
[2:0:2:18]   disk    ES-6600S ES-6600S-VOL#018 R001  /dev/sdh

# create a volumegroup on /dev/sdd
pvcreate /dev/sdd