ERR_CONNECTION_TIMED_OUT - Proxmox web gui

blygekenta

Oct 6, 2023
Hi!

I am new to proxmox, poor skills regarding networking and i am having trouble to access the web gui from my desktop. I did a new installation yesterday and it worked all fine untill now.

What I have is a desktop that proxmox is running on. That desktop is connected to a network switch, and that switch is connected to a router. I also have another dekstop that I am using to get access to proxmox but as mentioned above, I get ERR_CONNECTION_TIMED_OUT. I am using https://188.66.48.142:8006/, which worked fine yesterday but now is not working at all.

I've read some posts that one should look at the output from cat /etc/network/interfaces to check if it also says the same IP

adress 188.66.48.142/24
gateway 188.66.48.1

Does anyone know what is causing this problem?

There could be many different reasons, some in your control and some external. May be your IP changed...

You should rethink your network layout. It doesnt sound like you have much experience with networking and so you should not be exposing your hosts to Internet. I suspect you dont have multiple public IPs allocated to you? If you dont, then you should move the public IP towards a good hardware router/firewall and use private IPs for internal network.
How to set this all up is beyond the scope of this forum

Blockbridge : Ultra low latency all-NVME shared storage for Proxmox - https://www.blockbridge.com/proxmox