Duplicate a dying SSD (LVM-Thin) drive with new identical SSD

Jan 24, 2022
Hello,

I've inherited a ProxMox server. It currently has approximately 10 VM's running on it. But I got an alert that one of the SSD drives (only two in the entire server) that houses the VM's is dying. So I bought a brand new SSD same size same make model, everything. But currently I have it connected to the server using USB. My question, is there a way I can replicate or duplicate the old SSD and copy all of that data (vm's) to the new drive. I don't know how to format the new drive or anything, I am a noob, sorry. Was hoping to use Clonezilla but that didn't work, not sure how the old drive is formatted, but could clone it. Was hoping that maybe there is a linux command I could use? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Bill

Caution: data loss is possible if you execute procedure incorrectly. If you are not confident in success and this is a valuable environment, I recommend reaching out to a consultant.

Based only on the information you provided, the high level approach would be to:
- stop all VMs
- stop proxmox services:
systemctl stop pvedaemon
systemctl stop pveproxy
systemctl stop pvestatd
- unmount the disk (it should not be mounted)
- use "dd" to copy the context of the disk. The most basic command line: dd if=/dev/INPUTBADDEVICE of=/dev/NEWDEVICEONUSB bs=8k
- shutdown the server, remove old disk, connect the new one.
- boot the server.

References:
https://linuxhint.com/clone-disk-using-dd-linux/
https://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/linux-mount-an-lvm-volume-partition-command/

Good luck

Ultra low latency all-NVME shared storage for Proxmox - https://www.blockbridge.com/proxmox

Reactions: btodd71