DRBD Primary/Primary and integrity checks

ecramer

May 17, 2011
I've been working with Proxmox VE for about four months now, and I'm looking for some suggestions (or maybe reassurance) that what I'm doing is "right." The technical information of the post is mostly DRBD related, but the end result leads back to PVE. (I apologize if this sounds like a broken record, especially to the Proxmox 2.0/HA developers...)

What I want, but can't have*

Proxmox Host 1
--------------------
Local OS disk
DRBD-R0 - Primary
DRBD-R1 - Primary
DRBD-R2 - Secondary

Proxmox Host 2
--------------------
Local OS disk
DRBD-R0 - Primary
DRBD-R1 - Secondary
DRBD-R2 - Primary

R0 would be a testing area, R1 and R2 would be for production machines. Running a Primary/Secondary system makes it easy to avoid split brain problems. However, PVE isn't happy if all of its storage options aren't writable.* To achieve this, DRBD must be running in dual primary mode. Things seemed alright, but trouble was brewing in the dark. DRBD doesn't complain much (or at all in some cases) letting this little charm slip by for almost three weeks:

(from kern.log.3)
Apr 15 10:56:07 pve2 kernel: block drbd0: Digest integrity check FAILED.
Apr 15 10:56:07 pve2 kernel: block drbd0: error receiving Data, l: 4136!

Instant split-brain, probably for no "good" reason. It happened right after a new VM was created and started. Lars Ellenberg has explained the problem in a few different places, here's something close: "Digest-integrity with dual-primary is not a very good idea." (www.mail-archive.com) It boils down to the local data changing before the two DRBD daemons have their hashes sorted out.

I removed the digest-integrity options from the net{} section and started looking at the verify-alg options in syncer{}. Scheduling "drbdadm verify all" to run during periods of low activity reduces the risk of spurious split-brain errors, but it's still a possibility.