Discussion: Proxmox + Ansible = Awesomeness

Feb 25, 2024
Hey guys, i am an ansible enthusisast and would like to start a discussion on your usecase and my usecase regarding ansible. I am not an ansible expert but I love utilizing ansible as much as possible. Maybe I can get some ideas and you can get some ideas from me. So here it is:

I have a vm which iis running ansible and ansble awx to automate tasks that are done over and over. After setting everything up you can save a lot of time. Like really a lot :) Here's how utilize ansible:
  • automate backups of lxc and vms
  • automate update
  • automate lxc and vm deployment
  • wake up truenas scale backup server via WOL and then start replication then shut it down when it's done to save energy
  • automate unlocking of dataset because i use passphrase for many dataset for security. (you know when HW got stolen all data is locked down)
  • automate installation of packages
  • shutdown groups of vm/lxc before truenas update then start them after update
  • etc.
For a couple vm this might not be worth it but worth learning. When my homelab started getting bigger the time I spend doing stuff over and over and doing them to ech vm/lxc was just immense and now I can do garden work again lol

How do you use ansible?

@Alwin Antreich Thanks for the inout! :) No i have not tried that one yet. I've always wanted to try cloud-init but never done it :p It's on my to do list though :) Sounds like you use Proxmox in the company with ansible. Do you have more ideas or suggestions for me as a homelaber?

Nice to hear you're having fun. Have you tried utilizing cloud-init with ansible-pull yet?
Well, cloud-init alone can automate the initial installation of the VM and ansible gets the rest done. We use it in our infra. :)