Decrease a VM Disk Size

Aug 30, 2022
Hey,
I'm still new to proxmox and I wanted to know how I could decrease the size of a VM's Disk.

This is the specs of the VM
Screenshot_20230208_021715.png

Within the Linux Ubuntu Server, it shows the following:
Screenshot_20230208_021959.png
Screenshot_20230208_022007.png
Screenshot_20230208_022017.png

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!!

Shrinking disks is kinda tricky and dangerous, depending on your data and setup it might be
easiest to:
  • set up a new, smaller vm and copy/pasting the important data over
  • cloning the disk to a smaller disk (e.g. with clonezilla)
  • adding more storage
If you want to manually resize:
First of all, make a backup before resizing.

How to do this heavily depends on your setup, i.e., what filing system are you using (ext4, zfs, btrfs), what partition table you are using (MBR, GUID) if your vms are on an lvm and probably more...

From your screenshots, there are a couple of things you will need to do: resize the filesystem inside the vm, shrink the Logical Volume and then rescan.

I am assuming that your vm uses ext4, but if not, this part will be different.

In the proxmox web interface: under `hardware` click `add`->`cd/dvd drive` and add a linux iso (e.g. ubuntu if you still have on on your server or gparted live). Under `options` in the web interface, change the boot order to your iso by dragging it to the top of the list or boot into it by pressing `esc` and selecting it during boot.
boot into your live image and resize the partition. I recommend gparted, it is user-friendly and a gui app, but you can use parted as well. make sure to leave a little overhead