Currently running 4-disk raidz1 - Looking for assistance migrating to 8-disk raidz2

ASchneider

Mar 7, 2024
I've been skating by on a 4-disk raidz1 device for a few years, and recently had a disk die on me, which has led me toward migrating to raidz2 for the extra redundancy. My current zpool has the following configuration of disks:
Code:
root@r720-poweredge-1:~# zpool status
  pool: SAS-7.2k
 state: ONLINE
  scan: scrub repaired 0B in 14:26:01 with 0 errors on Sun Feb 11 14:50:13 2024
config:

NAME                        STATE     READ WRITE CKSUM
        SAS-7.2k                    ONLINE       0     0     0
          raidz1-0                  ONLINE       0     0     0
            wwn-0x5000cca26c2d2d08  ONLINE       0     0     0
            wwn-0x5000cca26a9fe54c  ONLINE       0     0     0
            wwn-0x5000cca26a902198  ONLINE       0     0     0
            wwn-0x5000cca26a99d46c  ONLINE       0     0     0

errors: No known data errors

Each disk is 10TB, and the total storage utilization of that pool is 13.27TB. I have an R720 that I've added an additional four 10TB disks to. My end goal is to have a single raidz2 device consisting of all 8 disks, running under a single zpool. My current issue is that with just under 14TB, I don't have a secondary host that can hold all of that data in the event I need to scrub the old pool prior to forming the new pool.

Is there a way that I can create a raidz2 device under it's own storage pool, losslessly move all of the data from the old pool to the new one, scrub the old pool and wipe the disks, and then add the old disks to the new raidz2 device?

No, best is still to backup all data to some other storage (replication to another ZFS pool would keep all settings and snapshots and should be fastest), destroy the existing pool and create a new one. That way you also defrag you data.