Creating VMs and LXC containers makes the host lose Internet connection

Feb 28, 2024
As the title states. I don't know why, but the PVE host loses connection to LAN and Internet... I have to physically go down to my home server, manually log in, kill the process and either wait a couple of minutes or reboot it (the latter one is not a must).

I've followed some of the steps (mainly the IOMMU stuff) that these two guys
  1. https://yewtu.be/watch?v=xD9Xyt2mdSI
  2. https://yewtu.be/watch?v=GoZaMgEgrHw
talk about. Other than that, the installation is fresh and clean.

Home server specs:
  • Intel i5-10600K (I don't have a dedicated graphics card, so I'm using the integrated GPU)
  • 32GB RAM
  • 5x HDDs in RAIDZ

I'm new to Proxmox, so any help is greatly appreciated. Please let me know if you need anything and I'll be more that happy to provide it.

EDIT: forgot to mention that I tried spinning up an Alpine Linux container and this one did not make me lose LAN/Internet. However, it did not have any internet connectivity, so I suspect that it has something to do with bridging/networking etc.

EDIT 2: the other VM I've tried spinning up (multiple times, same result) is an Ubuntu VM, and the LXC container is a Debian container (template).

Last edited:
To me, sounds like either IP address conflict or DNS.

Are you configuring your virtual stuff with DHCP? You need to make sure that the static IP address on vmbr0 is outside the DHCP address range from your router

Reactions: ismokemysocks
@Kingneutron
Sorry for the dumb question, but at the beginning (ref. screenshot #1) I was prompted to set the IP address, the gateway, and the DNS. I changed the DNS from 1.1.1.1 to 127.0.0.1, the IP to 192.168.2.100/24 (which is what the server IP should and I want to be) and the gateway to 192.168.2.1.

Are you configuring your virtual stuff with DHCP?
I'm using my router as DHCP, if that's what you mean?