Cluster & Live Migration

ale123

Mar 8, 2009
Hi all.
I'm new to virtualization and proxmox and I have a couple of question:

We would like to set up a two node cluster made with a pair of DELL PowerEdge 2950 with 4x146GB SAS 15k rpm disks.

We have not a SAN, DAS, NAS or a shared storage.
Each server will have it's disks inside.

Is possibile to do live migration of VM1 and VM2 from node1 to node2 without stopping them?

For example: if a customer is downloading a big file in VM1, what will happens if i'll start a live migration from node1 to node2? It will be disconnected?

How does it work? Without a SAN each vm should be transfered between nodes via ethernet, how long does it take and how is possibile that no interruption is made?

What if node1 will fail? Proxmox mantains in sync the two nodes or if one node will fail every VM inside of it will be stopped?

Thank you and sorry for my very bad english but I'm Italian.

Is possibile to do live migration of VM1 and VM2 from node1 to node2 without stopping them?

yes

For example: if a customer is downloading a big file in VM1, what will happens if i'll start a live migration from node1 to node2? It will be disconnected?

no

How does it work? Without a SAN each vm should be transfered between nodes via ethernet,

copy data with rsync

how long does it take

depends on size of virtual disk and RAM.

and how is possibile that no interruption is made?

by save/restore the whole state.

What if node1 will fail? Proxmox mantains in sync the two nodes or if one node will fail every VM inside of it will be stopped?

every VM inside of it will be stopped

Thank you for the clear response.
But during rsync copy, what happens to the client? New data are store in new server or in old server?

For example, customers will downlaod a huge file from internet during a live migration. It has a 40GB virtual machine full of file, rsync copy will take a long time.