Can't log in to VM Clones

ms daldam

Nov 30, 2022
Hi,
I am a newbie to Promox and the vm world. I followed a guide to sent up VM's via a template using cloud-images.ubuntu (focal current) and then add a Cloud Init drive. Everything seemed to have created fine with no errors, except I cannot log into either of the two fully cloned VMs.

I removed them (the cloned VMs) including the template and recreated them, this time not adding a password in Cloud Init and still once booted the VMs host names are correct, diff uuid #s are issued, but I am still not able to login.

I tried searching the issue on the forum but nothing directly pertaining to this. Any assistance would be appreciated. :)

1669831456897.png

Last edited:
You'd need to explain in more details what "I cannot log" means. I suspect your username and password are not accepted? However thats not sufficient to provide any advice. What did you set cloud-init to? Username? Password? SSH key? How did you try to login? What did you type? What error did you receive?
The screenshot you attached is not relevant to "login" capabilities. Cloud-init configuration would be more informational. Console view with error as well.

Blockbridge : Ultra low latency all-NVME shared storage for Proxmox - https://www.blockbridge.com/proxmox

You'd need to explain in more details what "I cannot log" means. I suspect your username and password are not accepted? However thats not sufficient to provide any advice. What did you set cloud-init to? Username? Password? SSH key? How did you try to login? What did you type? What error did you receive?
The screenshot you attached is not relevant to "login" capabilities. Cloud-init configuration would be more informational. Console view with error as well.

Blockbridge : Ultra low latency all-NVME shared storage for Proxmox - https://www.blockbridge.com/proxmox

Wow okay....thanks.

-Yes, you are correct, I my username/and or password is not being accepted - error - login incorrect