Can't connect externally to my minecraft server

lucasBR5

Nov 14, 2023
Brazil
Hello,

I'm trying to understand why my Minecraft server doesn't work when I attempt to connect using my public IP address. It's installed and functioning on the local network, but even with port forwarding configured, it fails to work when I try to connect through the public IP address. When I use canyouseeme.org on port 2456 (I'm using this port because a few months ago, I tested a Valheim server using this port on my work laptop, and my friends connected successfully), redirecting to 25565, it indicates that the port is still closed. The following images show the port forwarding settings on my router and container firewall. What could I be doing wrong? I'm new in the Proxmox world.

Screenshot_1.pngScreenshot_2.png
Screenshot_3.png
Screenshot_4.png

Thank you in advance.

You set the source port to 25565. So you allow incoming traffic coming from port 25565 targeting any port. What you probably want is setting the destination port to 25565 and the source port to any, so all incoming traffic is allowed that tries to connect to your minecraft server on port 25565.

And you set the input policy from drop to accept. So all incoming and all outgoing traffic is allowed by default unless you explicitly drop/reject something using a rule. So your 3 accept rules are basically useless as anything is allowed by default anyway. Once it's working I would switch that back to "drop" so you can do whitelisting instead of blacklisting.

Last edited:
You set the source port to 25565. So you allow incoming traffic coming from port 25565 targeting any port. What you probably want is setting the destination port to 25565 and the source port to any, so all incoming traffic is allowed that tries to connect to your minecraft server on port 25565.