Can't access Proxmox from PFSense LAN

scallaway

Jun 15, 2023
I'm very new to Proxmox, PFSense and just networking in general, but I wanted to get my hands dirty setting up my own router.

I've installed Proxmox VE on a Dell Optiplex that I got, along with an 1Gig, 4port Intel NIC that was recommended by the PFSense forums. Installed PFSense too and that was pretty straight forward. PFSense is the only VM on the host as it stands (so throwing out and starting again isn't off the cards).

I'm so very close from a fully working setup, but can't for the life of me work out this final (what I feel should be simple) problem. Clients on the PFSense LAN can't access the Proxmox Web interface. I currently still have my existing network running (OpenWRT routers, but that's not important right now), and clients on that network are able to connect to the Proxmox interface when the Dell has an ethernet connection to its motherboard. So at least I can make changes that way!

I've read basically every resource I can find, but either they don't seem to be applicable for my situation or, more likely, I just don't have the knowledge to interpret what they're suggesting.

---

In terms of configuration, my /etc/network/interfaces currently looks like this;

Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface enp0s31f6 inet manual

auto enp2s0f0
iface enp2s0f0 inet manual

auto enp2s0f1
iface enp2s0f1 inet manual

iface enp2s0f2 inet manual

iface enp2s0f3 inet manual

auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
        address 192.168.1.10/24
        gateway 192.168.1.1
        bridge-ports enp0s31f6
        bridge-stp off
        bridge-fd 0

iface wlx347de4b9db18 inet manual

auto vmbr1
iface vmbr1 inet manual
        bridge-ports enp2s0f0
        bridge-stp off
        bridge-fd 0

auto vmbr2
iface vmbr2 inet manual
        bridge-ports enp2s0f1
        bridge-stp off
        bridge-fd 0