Can Support Realtime OS?

Laurance

Aug 15, 2023
Can Proxmox VE support Realtime OS? such as FreeRTOS, RTLinux, RT_Thread, or windows RTX?
If it can, what special configuration or change need?Thanks

Added: Can I run RT Linux virtual machines from PVE? What conditions or Settings are required?

Real-time usually implies complete control of everything to guarantee deadlines and virtualization is exactly the opposite of that. I assume it will run in a VM (just try it?), but I'm not sure what you will get from it that you won't get from other Linuxes (as real-time goes out the window). But I have no experience with this, so maybe that is why I don't really understand the question.

Reactions: BobhWasatch
I have a similar request. I'm trying to get a robot programming software to run. It is KUKA OfficeLite and being distributed via VM for Hyper-V. In Hyper-V it appears to be working but for safety reasons we don't want to rely on Hyper-V. I successfully converted the vmdx and got it to start up, but after booting and initializing the OS it tries to start the software and fails to initiate a connection and closes. Problem is that the real time OS inside the VM can't communicate correctly and fails to synchronize data streams. VMware Workstation did work for some time but produces the same Problem now.
I am not very experienced with Proxmox and would like to know what I am supposed to do to get PVE to running the VM as closely to Hyper-V if that is even remotely possible.

Answering because I do a bit of real-time programming in my day job...