Bowser wont connect to VM, Refused to connect.

skydragon

Mar 8, 2022
Hello,
I just installed Proxmox and I am trying to run Octoprint in a VM with Ubuntu Server. I can see it running in the terminal and I checked it at my router and it says it is running. I can also SSH into it, but my web browser says refused to connect. I am a NOOB, but I looked all over the net and I cant figure it out. HELP PLEASE??
Thanks, Larry

Hey,

how did you start Octoprint? This is just a wild guess, but it would explain the behavior you're seeing, skimming over their docs I saw you have to/can set the host IP, make sure you don't set it to 127.0.0.1(as in their example), because this would only allow a connection form the same machine the server is running on(so the VM itself). Rather use 0.0.0.0 as the host IP, which allows connections from everywhere.

Hey,

how did you start Octoprint? This is just a wild guess, but it would explain the behavior you're seeing, skimming over their docs I saw you have to/can set the host IP, make sure you don't set it to 127.0.0.1(as in their example), because this would only allow a connection form the same machine the server is running on(so the VM itself). Rather use 0.0.0.0 as the host IP, which allows connections from everywhere.
where would i go to change it?

I went into nano /etc/network/interfaces but there is nothing there. says it is not writable.

Last edited:
lsof -i -P | grep LISTEN

does this show any listening ports on the system?

You should see a list of ports on which your system is listening with the corresponding process. Make sure you run lsof -i -P | grep LISTEN as root directly or with sudo. Also, how did you start the Octoprint service?

Did you start with with
octoprint daemon {start|stop|restart} [--pid PIDFILE] [1]
or
octoprint serve [1].
Were any errors reported when you started it?

[1] https://github.com/OctoPrint/OctoPrint/blob/master/README.md