Backup to another node

bolighbilant

Mar 14, 2024
Hi.

I'm really new to proxmox. I will try to back up my "proxmox" node's vms to "dl380" node. They are in cluster.
I have a directory type storage on "dl380" node with the following settings.
Képernyőkép 2024-03-14 205419.png
When I try to run a backup job I received the following error message.
Képernyőkép 2024-03-14 205441.png

I checked the systemctl status mnt-pve-backup.mount:
Képernyőkép 2024-03-14 205904.png

Please help! :)
Thanks.
Balint.

You "backup" storage is of local type, ie only available to DL380.

It is also, properly, marked to be a mountpoint.

However, you did not restrict the storage in "nodes" field , so in your cluster _all_ nodes are given impression that they should have it.

You can see "?" next to "backup" storage on "proxmox" node - it means the storage is not available.

The error you are getting is pretty clear : cant activate storage because there is a directory but its not a mountpoint. This is likely because there is nothing mounted to that directory on "proxmox" node.

The bottom line - directory type storage does not become "shared" storage whether its in cluster or not.

I suspect you want a proper shared storage, ie NFS, to achieve your goal.

Blockbridge : Ultra low latency all-NVME shared storage for Proxmox - https://www.blockbridge.com/proxmox

You "backup" storage is of local type, ie only available to DL380.

It is also, properly, marked to be a mountpoint.

However, you did not restrict the storage in "nodes" field , so in your cluster _all_ nodes are given impression that they should have it.

You can see "?" next to "backup" storage on "proxmox" node - it means the storage is not available.

The error you are getting is pretty clear : cant activate storage because there is a directory but its not a mountpoint. This is likely because there is nothing mounted to that directory on "proxmox" node.