Automated proxmox firewall management

LeeS

Mar 30, 2015
Hello :D

Firstly a big thank you to the Proxmox team for PVE. I have been using it in anger for several years now and it just keeps getting better and better. Life feels complete now that it has an integrated firewall! My inbound rules are very tight for all VMs/CTs within my cluster, but this doesn't prevent things like the mail server (which obviously needs to be accessible from everywhere on certain ports) being hammered by known nasties. I'm not necessarily talking spam as that is easily handled by other means, but rather the non-stop AUTH brute-force attempts, etc. etc. etc.

So I started a project. It's time to give something back to the Proxmox team, and the community at large.

MAFIA for Proxmox VE is born. No - not the Italian chaps with concrete boots for people who annoy them; the Modular Automated Firewall Interface Application. Eventually there are grand plans for it. Right now, it's very simple. It takes lists of bad guys from across the internet on regular intervals, and pumps them into an IPSet. This IPSet (depending on how you configure it) can then be used to globally block access to your cluster, or on a per-VM/CT basis. Up to you.

SOURCES:
  1. OpenBL Base
  2. Spamhaus DROP and EDROP
  3. Blocklist.de STRONGIPS
  4. ISC DSHIELD
  5. Emerging Threats CINS

These 6 sources provide a good mix of long-term evidenced poor reputation, and newly emerging threat protection. You can also add your own sources (how to do so is somewhat left as an exercise for the user at this point), but the layout of the scripts should be easy enough to follow for anyone with a rudimentary knowledge of bash scripts). More sources will be added in future releases.

MAFIA is released under GPL v3 and lives here: https://mafia.network

Last edited:
version 0.4 released. Now includes script to automatically expire firewall entries based on age and the OpenBL delisted file.