Async IO Settings for Virtual Disks: Documentation? How to Set?

Sep 1, 2022
Me again, looking for more help with Probably Dumb Questions. :)

Maybe because I'm new at this I don't know what I should be searching for, but after some googling and searching here, I'm still looking for a good explanation of the Async IO options in the virtual disk options inside a VM.

I've got no idea what this does, so I've been leaving it at default. Are there any articles that explain what the other two options do/when I'd want to use them?

Thanks!

1662824435425.png

I've got no idea what this does, so I've been leaving it at default. Are there any articles that explain what the other two options do/when I'd want to use them?
What I found is that the io_uring is the very recently added and fastest method of doing asynchronous IO. I found this FOSDEM presentation (and video) which explains the new method in detail and skimmes the surface on what the others are.

Reactions: SInisterPisces
What I found is that the io_uring is the very recently added and fastest method of doing asynchronous IO. I found this FOSDEM presentation (and video) which explains the new method in detail and skimmes the surface on what the others are.
Excellent! I'll check that out soon.

I have to say, I'm really impressed with how the defaults in Proxmox tend to be the best setting. One reason I'm posting so much is that I'm using to having to heavily tweak the defaults whenever I set up anything that has any kind of built-in storage. (OpenMediaVault; QNAP NAS devices, any ARM SBC with an SSD attached...)

I have to say, I'm really impressed with how the defaults in Proxmox tend to be the best setting. One reason I'm posting so much is that I'm using to having to heavily tweak the defaults whenever I set up anything that has any kind of built-in storage. (OpenMediaVault; QNAP NAS devices, any ARM SBC with an SSD attached...)