Add ZFS storage

dixie2000

May 16, 2023
Hello,

First I am relatively new to Proxmox. I have a 2 node PVE setup and want to be able to replicate the VM's and CT's on node 1 to node 2. I have reviewed many documents and done several Google searches and can't seem to find a solution.

1. Do I need a ZFS pool or something else?
  2. Can I add what might be required (ZFS) to my existing configuration or do I need to start over?

Any help is certainly appreciated!

Do I need a ZFS pool or something else?
Yes, replication is based on ZFS native features. So this is a requirement.

Can I add what might be required (ZFS) to my existing configuration or do I need to start over?
If you got some unused Enterprise SSDs or CMR HDDs you could add them and create new ZFS pools. Make sure they got the same name on both nodes.

I have a 2 node PVE setup
I hope you also got a third machine working as your qdevice, as a proper cluster needs 3+ machines.

@Dunuin

Thank you for your reply.

My second node is a duplicate, hardware wise, of node one. I have nothing running on it at the moment. It has a 500GB NVME drive in it.

1. Can I utilize that drive and configure as a ZFS drive?
  2. Does Proxmox need to be reinstalled on this node or can I somehow just reformat the NVME drive and configure as ZFS?

Thanks!

1. Can I utilize that drive and configure as a ZFS drive?
  2. Does Proxmox need to be reinstalled on this node or can I somehow just reformat the NVME drive and configure as ZFS?
You would need to reinstall PVE on both nodes using ZFS if they only got a single disk that isn't used with ZFS yet.
And again, there are no 2-node clusters. You need 3 nodes or 2 nodes + some third physical machine as third voter for quorum. Please read the full wiki article for cluster basics, design considerations and limitations: https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Cluster_Manager

Last edited: