accessing NFS share (Synology) from a Debian 11 VM for use with sonarr/plex/download clients

crazyspy

May 21, 2023
hello
i want start off by saying that i'm a total newbie in the linux world and its really confusing so far

right now i have my media setup run through docker in Synology NAS and its working well, but i want to move my docker apps from the Synology to Proxmox server VM, and i have been at it for around a week but i find my self going 1 step forward just for the next thing to put me 2 steps backward, its really overwhelming the amount of knowledge and amount of research that i have to do, and i feel so lost, and every comand feels like jargon to me, i tried setting it 1st as an LXC container but decided to go VM route as alot of people were suggesting, then trying to pass through a hardisk to the machine and not knowing how to mount it to the vm even though it shows up in partion tool.

what i have right now is a Proxmox 7.4-3 running debian 11 with docker installed running Sonarr only for now, so i can configure how to connect it to my main library in my
Synology NAS so it can manage my media library, i made an NFS share in my synology of my media share folder and gave access to my Debian VM ip adrress, and then i tried to do

Code:
mount -t nfs 192.168.x.x:/volume1/data /mnt -o vers=4.1,noatime,soft

which gives me no error or any response but i guess that it means that it worked,however when i go to try and map sonarr when i go into /mnt its just an empty directory

firefox_3erCXrlet4.png
i even installed KDE plasma and had access to the share through the dolphin file explorer
firefox_QQLEiDsRW5.png

and it persist even after a shutdown
the user i'm logged into has the UID 1000 and GID 1000 (same PUID and PGID i set for sonarr in docker-compose file)

i'm not sure if its a permission issue or something else i'm totally clueless about.

is my way even the right way to get connect to my NAS storage or is there a better way of connection?