100% disk utilization in Windows VMs and intermittent kernel panic every 2+ months.

peekOfgeek

Dec 9, 2022
I have been using proxmox as a home lab for a few years and absolutely love it when it works. However, I've had the following two massive issues:

• Kernel panics resulting in UI being inaccessible (sometimes you can get to the login but it just spins, other times I can't even ping)
  • Windows VMs frequently show 100% disk utilization in task manager.
I can get whatever logs are needed to help me resolve these issues just point me in the right direction.

System:
Ryzen 3700
Asrock x570s riptide
64GB DDR4 3200
10gb SFP+ NIC
LSI 9217-8i
2x Samsung 850 evo zfs mirror for boot
1x 2TB Crucial SSD
5x 8TB spinners for big stuff

Windows 10 Professional VM (had similar issues with enterprise)
8gb memory
4 cores (host but I've had the issue with KVM as well)
VirtIO SCSI (yes the driver is installed)
Storage on SSDs

Hello,

What type of SSDs are the VMs running on? I suppose they are consumer SSDs, which are completely inadequate for both ZFS and general Hypervisor (IOPS and latency demanding) usage. For example, those Samsungs 850 Evo disks you listed are consumer SSDs.

There are a myriad of threads in this forum why you should never use consumer SSDs, but the gist is:
- they are only fast until their small SLC cache is full. Even more, SSDs with QLC tend to be as slow as normal hard disks.
- they dont have a Power-Loss-Protection (PLP). Despite the name this also means a big loss in performance, because without PLP they can't offer proper support for async writes
- they might be cheaper to buy, but are much more expensive in terms of €/TB written compared to enterprise SSDs
- it is suggested to buy some used enterprise SSDs if you don't wanna run into issues like this.

Kind regards,
Benedikt

Last edited:
Is this true even if I don't use ZFS?