1.9 - Browser access: Secure Connection Failed

vanDivX

Jun 24, 2010
I installed v1.9 because I didn't like the 2.1 web interface (settings seem to be hidden behind menu or in wizards, strikes as front for more advanced users). I am new to Proxmox and noob to linux to boot.

After installing Proxmox 1.9 I go to https://192.168.1.9 and I get this report from FFox (IE won't load it either)

Secure Connection Failed

An error occurred during a connection to 192.168.1.9.

SSL received a record that exceeded the maximum permissible length.

(Error code: ssl_error_rx_record_too_long)

* The page you are trying to view can not be shown because the authenticity of the received data could not be verified.

I could log into Proxmox v 2.1 which used the port 8006 [https://192.168.1.9:8006/]

Is this something quite odd? I tried to search this forum but it looks like this is not common problem.

Google Chrome returns similar error:

SSL connection error

Unable to make a secure connection to the server. This may be a problem with the server, or it may be requiring a client authentication certificate that you don't have.
Error 107 (net::ERR_SSL_PROTOCOL_ERROR): SSL protocol error.

Last edited:
I have reinstalled and still can't log into web interface. Can one still download v1.8 ?? I remember that one didn't have this problem but it is not on download page anymore.

Last edited:
1.8 and 1.9 - both are outdated - use 2.1.

I suppose I will have to go back to 2.1 then.

Version 2.x remainds me of what use to be said in past about programs like MS Office - that it is all there, all controls of everything but most of it is hidden under layers of menus and wizards... probably that is true even today. And I have feeling from your interface you have moved in that direction with v2.x web interface. But that's just an impression I have, not having used previous interface too much either.