[SOLVED] ZFS Performance Tuning

mattlach

Mar 23, 2016
Boston, MA
Hey all,

While I've been using ZFS for years, I am completely new to it under Linux. I was trying to replicate some performance tuning I'd done successfully on BSD, where "tunables" are added to /boot/loader.conf

Problem is, I couldn't seem to figure out where these "tunables" go on ZFS on Linux.

This page suggests that ZFS "tunables" can go in /etc/modprobe.d/zfs.conf. This file does not exist on my Proxmox install. If I create it, will the ZFS implementation in Proxmox honor the settings I put in there?

I'd appreciate any feedback!

Thanks,
Matt

yes, just create the file.

see also:

http://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Storage:_ZFS

Thank you, that is very helpful!

I'd be interested what you tune and why.

I plan to sett the following tunables in order to improve l2arc caching (at the expense of SSD lifespan, but nothing lasts forever :p )

l2arc_noprefetch 0
l2arc_write_boost 134217728
l2arc_write_max 67108864

One of my containers is a media server, and I am looking to avoid content stutter during heavy pool load. These tunables worked very well in that regard when my pool was in FreeNAS.

On a side note:

I currently have two pools on my proxmox box, the mirror created by the installer, and a 12 disk (dual 6 disk RAIDz2) with mirrored SLOG/ZIL SSD's and dual l2arc SSD's for mass storage.

It concerns me a little bit that the mirrored pool created by the proxmox uses direct device links to /dev/sda and /dev/sdb

When I first imported it, my big pool did the same, and it didn't take long for one of the devices to be offlined because it's device name changed during reboot, so I converted it to control devices by by id by exporting it again, and importing it using the following command:

Code:
zpool import -d /dev/disk/by-id/ <poolname>

This worked beautifully, as my big pool status now looks like this:

Code:
 state: ONLINE
  scan: scrub repaired 0 in 7h25m with 0 errors on Wed Apr 27 05:55:41 2016