ZFS on proxmox could be better

BloodyIron

Renowned Member
Jan 14, 2013
it.lanified.com
Hi Folks,

First, I think ZFS being in proxmox now for a while is awesome. I love ZFS and really think it's one of the best filesystems out there. That being said, I've recently seen some important shortcomings with it's implementation in proxmox, and I really hope my concerns can get addressed in future developments.

First, no alerts in the webGUI.

When I test-yanked a disk out of a ZFS mirror that is the OS pool (and local storage), the webGUI literally showed ZERO alerts or information of a disk being missing. This was very alarming to me as an admin I would have to go and manually check to see such an event had occurred. We really need alerts for problem scenarios for ZFS. Even if the disk is okay, but disconnected, this kind of thing _NEEDS_ to be presented as an alarm in the webGUI, email, both, whatever.

Second, no hot spare options.

When making zpools, be it for booting the OS, or other local storage, having hot spares would help. I've found no install or GUI way to setup spares, and I think this would increase the quality of life for ZFS usage in the Proxmox VE ecosystem.

Third, no live action for re-insertion of disks.

In my mirror yanking scenario, I plugged the disk back in, and.... nothing. zpool status showed that the pool did not see the disk as reconnected. The Linux OS however did present the /dev/ device, yet ZFS had not reconnected the disk back to the pool, despite it being a member. This is a problem for intermittent interfaces, or if you accidentally yank a disk and put it back in. My "solution" was rebooting the proxmox host. This _should not_ be the solution. My expectation is it should see the device as present and put it back in the pool without user interaction.

Fourth, no webGUI tools for interacting with ZFS zpools.