Windows Server 2016 Slow Write Speeds on NVME SSD?

msvuze

Dec 4, 2016
I have a Samsung 950 PRO PCIe NVMe 512gb M.2.

I just installed Proxmox to test-out Windows Server 2016 in it.
I went with viostor because that's the only driver during the install windows accepted, expect for SATA and IDE but they are too slow.

Super fast read speeds!!! 6,550 MB/s.

But crazy slow write speeds! 128 MB/s.
4k is 2.13 MB's for both.

Only way to get normal speeds for reads/writes is to select SATA but then my speeds are about 450-500 MB/s.

Can someone please help me,

I'm a noob in all of this and I don't understand why the write speeds and cache are so slow.
I searched for hrs online but cannot find a solution.
I played around with SCSI Controller Type, Cache (write back), and some other settings but it really doesn't help.

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2016-12-04 at 12.47.32 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2016-12-04 at 12.47.32 AM.png
    48 KB · Views: 56
Last edited:
The read speed is obviously bogus. Test with cache=no for best 1:1 performance.

What is your underlying storage type for your VM?

Tested it with cache =Off.
The Seq Read = 1400MB/s.
The Seq Write = 500MB/s.
The Seq Write is a bit faster but still nowhere where it should be (at around 1000+)
The 4k is still the same at 2MB/s.
Format I selected when creating VM was: QEMU image format (qcow2).

Last edited:
I just did an install using the Raw disk image and still the same results.

Update:
I tested with SATA and the Seq Write is up to 840MB/s.
But the 4k is still 18MB/s read and 28MB/s write. I tried setting cache to write-back make slow results.

Any other tips on how to speed up the write speeds and 4k ?

Last edited:
>>Any other tips on how to speed up the write speeds and 4k ?

buy a true datacenter ssd drive for fast sync write

some speed compare between dc and consumer drive:

https://www.sebastien-han.fr/blog/2...-if-your-ssd-is-suitable-as-a-journal-device/