when console vm 113 i get vm 115

offerlam

Renowned Member
Dec 30, 2012
Denmark
Hi all,

This is screwed up!!

I just reinstalled VM 113 with a new centos 7 install. when its done i rebooted like normal. Than i went to proxmox and went for console for vm 113 and now i get vm 115? i can see that because of the hostname. The hostname is the same as for vm 115 and should have been localhost which i centos default? How can this happens?

also

I have 4 VMs now(112 113 116 109) turned off (one of which is also part of the top problem) all having the same IP. Some is a clone of another and some are new mashines. Im working on a problem thats why i have that many with the same ip. they are all turned off...

at least qm status shows them as turned off. but when i ping the ip i get a response?
I think its vm 116 thats is not really turned off.

This is a 3 node cluster running version 3.4-10

I have never seen this before.. i feel the cluster is out of sync somehow. but im no expert..

Hi,

We can not and do not touch the hostname of a VM, so this is weird but should be caused by simply entering it during installation, a small moment of inattention happens to me also when installing a VM alongside some other work I do.

You can change the hostname back and then it should stay like desired.

Is there a process running for those VMs?
# qm list
shows the state, and if you think it may be erroneous use:

Code:
ps aux | grep "kvm.*VMID"[code]

replace only VMID with your IDs and look if there is an process running for those (should be a very long process command).

Hi,

We can not and do not touch the hostname of a VM, so this is weird but should be caused by simply entering it during installation, a small moment of inattention happens to me also when installing a VM alongside some other work I do.

You can change the hostname back and then it should stay like desired.

Is there a process running for those VMs?
# qm list