What is the Right Way™ to backup to FreeNAS (preferably iSCSI)?

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by starkruzr, Aug 11, 2016.

  1. starkruzr

    starkruzr Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is anyone doing this already? I've just stood up a FreeNAS instance on an old machine I have lying around for backups and would like to add it as a backup storage target for my Proxmox host. I can't figure out what it wants for NFS -- it all seems fairly straightforward to add it and then just tells me that the NFS mount is not online. Adding an iSCSI storage mount doesn't ask me what kind of content I want to put into the storage volume. Ideas?

    I'm on the latest 9.1 release of FreeNAS and Proxmox 4.0-57.

    Thanks.
     
  2. starkruzr

    starkruzr Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    The NFS mount appears to exist, btw:

    Fornacis:~ jtd$ showmount -e aerilon.rtech.rti

    Exports list on aerilon.rtech.rti:

    /mnt/backup Everyone
    But if I mount it, it can't be read with e.g. an ls command.
     
  3. starkruzr

    starkruzr Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just bumping this. Does anyone have experience with using FreeNAS as a backup storage target for Proxmox?
     
  4. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,617
    Likes Received:
    328
    i use freenas at home as a backup target for my proxmox machine,

    you have to make sure that the permissions are ok
    and i had to set the nfs option "mapall" to the user which owns the directory in freenas
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Drew

    Drew New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using NFS with FreeNAS as well. Its probably a permissions issue or you marked the storage as allowing 0 backups.

    My backups run on a schedule every Saturday night and keeps the last 7 good backups of each VM. Been running like that for over a year now with no issues.
     
  6. SysAx

    SysAx New Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using NFS with FreeNAS for the backup schedule and it works well.

    I think your problem is related to the reverse DNS lookup done by NFS.
    Found on a forum: During the mount process, NFS apparently does a reverse DNS lookup to see if the address is valid.

    You have to add information about the hosts Proxmox, in your /etc/hosts of FreeNAS.

    You can do it in the gui like this: Network -> Global Configuration -> Host name data base ......

    FreeNAS_config.png

    Christian
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice