VM doesn't have Internet access

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Networking and Firewall' started by Irgand, Jul 12, 2018.

  1. Irgand

    Irgand New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello! I recently started using ProxMox and i like it, but i have some problems. I have installed ProxMox in VirtualBox and created VM Ubuntu 16.04 with Bridge network interface, but i doesn't have Internet access from VM. I have Internet in host. Thanks in advance for you help.

    Version ProxMox: 5.1-41
    Version VirtualBox: 5.1.38

    More information in file "VM does not have Internet access.txt"
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Brian Chojnowski

    Brian Chojnowski New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    It looks fine at first glance to me, though I am no networking guru. If you open the Proxmox shell console, can you ping your vm?
     
  3. Irgand

    Irgand New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    My VM does not ping. Most likely the problem in VirtualBox, because with VMware works.
     
  4. Pcolot

    Pcolot New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same issue. By default, proxmox is creating virtio for their Vm.
    This is not working in virtualbox based environment. By selecting e1000 in place of virtio in proxmox this is working
     
  5. RokModTwo

    RokModTwo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently testing pfSense and ProxMox 5.3 as VirtualBox VM's. pfSense setup to route traffic -- this was tested OK with a different VBox VM (systemrescueCD) PVE could see Internet OK. Any LXC container could only ping hosts on local host-only network.

    Working off of this wiki page
    https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Proxmox_VE_inside_VirtualBox

    Found that if I edit /etc/network/interfaces and explictly put a gateway entry.... works, can ping all hosts on the host-only network, the pfSense box, hosts on my home network and internet as well.

    PVE is creating entries in the container route add etc... these don't seem to be working.

    When I restart the container, my gateway entry is removed and the route-add commands are there again

    I know the wiki page linked above cites a 2nd NIC using "NAT".... but I don't see how that is used in this particular setup.

    Is there more info as to why LXC container has the extra lines added by PVE?

    Section from my /etc/network/interfaces:

    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet static
    address 192.168.56.100
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    # --- BEGIN PVE ---
    post-up ip route add 192.158.56.2 dev eth0
    post-up ip route add default via 192.158.56.2 dev eth0
    pre-down ip route del default via 192.158.56.2 dev eth0
    pre-down ip route del 192.158.56.2 dev eth0
    # --- END PVE ---
     
  6. Pcolot

    Pcolot New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    Virtualbox is very disturbing with network configuration. Their basic strategy is to create isolated networks to test without risking to transmit to the extwrnal world.
    Virtual networks are like virtual machines, isolated.
    The second wrong assessment is to suppose a symetry in the device configuration. It is closer to reality to view the network device as unidirectional.

    The specific topology, that you want to build, is achived by deploying multiple devices. Each device is managing one of the route you want.

    Now, just review the virtualbox documentation with this new perspective and you will be able to build any kind of topology.

    If you want a ready made config with a proxmox virtualization in virtualbox, you can use mine but it is less fun.

    The proxmox is virtualized in virtualbox with fix local ip adress and internet connection. Deployed proxmox Vm also have access to internet. Remote access to the proxmox hypervisor could be achieved by ssh port forwarding. Remote access to local proxmox node could be achieved with vagrant remore access.

    You will find my full documentation

    On github.com user: pcolot01 project: /vagrant-proxmox file: /blob/master/README.md

    Best regards

    Pierre
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice