Virtualizing pfSense with PVE

thyewah

Oct 3, 2021
I am new to Proxmox and would like to run pfsense virtualised in PVE. I have an Intel i350-T4 NIC (currently using only enp2s0f0 and enp2s0f1) and onboard ethernet Intel I219-V (eno1).

I was able to install pfsense VM sucessfully by following the guide in the link (https://docs.netgate.com/pfsense/en/latest/recipes/virtualize-proxmox-ve.html). I started pfSense VM, assigned vmbr1 to WAN (connects to my modem) and vmbr2 to LAN (connects to my switch). WAN is set to DHCP (assigned by my ISP) and LAN is set to static IP 10.0.0.1.

However, I am unable to access Proxmox management GUI when I am connected to the LAN (enp2s0f1/vmbr2) unless I unplugged it from LAN and connect it to my onboard ethernet (eno1/vmbr0). I am wondering what should the IP and gateway of the PVE be? Do I have to change/add any settings in PVE or pfsense? Currently I am using static IP 10.10.10.2 and gateway 10.10.10.1 for Proxmox management GUI.

proxmox.png

Your Proxmox IP and gateway is asigned to vmbr0 so you can only access it from stuff connected to vmbr0. If you want to access it from vmbr2 too you need to assign a IP to vmbr2. Keep in mind that no host should got 2 IPs in the same subnet. So I would move gateway and IP from vmbr0 to vmbr2 if vmbr2 is your new LAN.

By the way...I would also create a DMZ so you got as isolated subnet for VMs/LXCs that should be reachable from the internet but should get no access to your LAN.

Last edited:
Your Proxmox IP and gateway is asigned to vmbr0 so you can only access it from stuff connected to vmbr0. If you want to access it from vmbr2 too you need to assign a IP to vmbr2. Keep in mind that no host should got 2 IPs in the same subnet. So I would move gateway and IP from vmbr0 to vmbr2 if vmbr2 is your new LAN.

By the way...I would also create a DMZ so you got as isolated subnet for VMs/LXCs that should be reachable from the internet but should get no access to your LAN.