Understanding Storage Types, Content, and Drive Size

SnAkEhIpS

Aug 20, 2018
Backgroud:

I've installed PVE on a standalone node, not a cluster. The physical ssd is 232.89 GiB as viewed from "Disks" under my node (named PVE). During the installation process I/it created:

1. local (pve): Content = VZDump backup file, ISO image, Container tempate > Type = Directory > Size = 56.84GiB
2. local-lvm(pve): Content = Disk image, Container > Type = LVM-Thin > Size = 150.64 GiB
3. local-lvm2(pve): Content = Disk Image, Container > Type = LVM > Size = 232.63 GiB

Nothing above is a typo. I'm new to Linux and Proxmox. I've successfully installed Cisco VIRL, Kubuntu, and Windows with paraviritualized drivers, so I'm not completely daft. I just need some help wrapping my head around storage.

I recently added a 500GiB as follows:
pve02(pve): Content = Disk Image, Container > Type = LVM > Size = 465.76

I need some advice. I'd like to maximize my storage utilization. I will be running linked clones and containers, so if I understand what I've read correctly, I need more LVM-Thin storage than LVM as the former supports snapshots and clones. The advantage of LVM however is that it can be shared. I do need some shared storage.

Question:

When I activated the 500GiB drive, I didn't put it in the same Volume Group as the others. In retrospect, I think I should have done so. I also think that I should have made it LVM-Thin. Is there any advantage or disadvantage to leaving the larger drive in a separate Volume Group? If I want to "do it over", what is the easiest way? Is it possible to take the existing LVM-Thin volume (#2) and combine it with my pve02 volume? Why does #3 show nothing under Contents yet 93.19% usage under Summary?

The advantage of LVM however is that it can be shared. I do need some shared storage.
unrelated to the question but note: this is local storage and not shared, so this does not play a role here (a shared lvm would be on an iscsi lun for example)