Unable to send backslash (\) to VM with embeded java VNC

Torrian

Jan 22, 2014
Dear sirs,

I am french so i have a french keyboard layout and as i said in title i am unable to send a backslash (\) which is ctrl+alt+8 or alt-gr+8 on my keyboard.

I am brand new to proxmox and i use the version 3.1. If i miss any setting please tell me

Thank you in advance

Torrian

Last edited:
and where are you trying to send \ ? web gui? java console? spice console?

Marco

First thank you for your fast answer,

I try to send \ using the console with the embeded java vnc to my VM's. It could be any windows/linux with or without graphical environnement it do the same: nothing.

well, mine works (italian, alt-092). don't know what happens to your...

Workarounds:
- for CTs goto pve ssh console, vzctl enter VMID, type what you want... (or any other remote control tool, for CTs and VMs)
- from pve web gui, VMID > monitor, try to use qemu sendkey codes... see http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/QEMU/Monitor#sendkey_keys (edit this seems not to work)

adding: have you tried switching web gui language temporarily? or changeing keyboard layout temporarily? does anything change?

Marco

Last edited:
Im afraid it comes down to this: every single VNC or KVM system out there has at least one situation where it wont let you send a seemingly "normal" keypress, often depending on client and server keyboard layout. Hell even HP's virtual console has lots of keys that are broken...