Tracking Center not in sync

Discussion in 'Mail Gateway: HA Cluster' started by Thomas Hukkelberg, Mar 4, 2018.

  1. Thomas Hukkelberg

    Thomas Hukkelberg New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    A couple weeks ago I sat up a PMG cluster with 3 nodes. It works fine now, after having some initial problems syncing the database to the third node. I solved that by logging in to postgresql with psql and deleted entries from the cstatic-table. (The log complained about duplicate entries.) Then the sync between the nodes started working and errors in the logs went away. (To get into postgresql, I had to edit pg_hba.conf to trust localhost logons without password and reload postgresql)

    Problem now is that the Tracking Center and Queue is not in sync across the nodes. Are they supposed to be in sync? Can't find any information about that in the manual or here in the forums. All nodes can ssh to each other and there is no errors in the logs. Also the all settings and Quarantine is synced, so apparently everything is working -- except Tracking Center and Queues...

    I wonder where Tracking Center is getting it's info from? I guess it's a combination of database and log files. I believe the database contains all entries from all nodes, but the syslog only show local logs. Should the syslog be synced between the nodes with rsyslog? Can anyone enlighten me?
     
  2. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    15,939
    Likes Received:
    244
    No. The tracking center search local files /var/log/syslog*, so that is not supposed to be in sync.
     
  3. Thomas Hukkelberg

    Thomas Hukkelberg New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I see. Will it be possible to set up an additional node for proxmox that receive syslogs vi arsyslog from all nodes. Will the resulting syslog be searchable by pmg-log-tracker?
     
  4. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    15,939
    Likes Received:
    244
    No, that is currently not possible.
     
  5. Thomas Hukkelberg

    Thomas Hukkelberg New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Um ok -- but I actually did set up an additional node yesterday -- and it works like a charm! Now we have all logs collected at one host that we use for tracking! Don't see why this is not done by PMG by default?
     
  6. Dragnell

    Dragnell New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    That look useful, i was until now believing that the tracking center was in sync across nodes, did you leave a how to behind ? Does still works for you ?
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice