Thinclient and Remote Desktop Virtualisation Server

proxbox

Oct 2, 2020
I would like to run virtual machines on a server and access these virtual machines from a thin client. After some research I discovered Proxmox.

I am a software developer and I am looking for a solution that allows me to experiment with different operating systems and containers at home. I would like to create a server for virtualization. This server should be able to run multiple virtual machines simultaneously. These virtual machines should be accessible by a thin-client or laptop on my local network.

What I would like to achieve is that I can run multiple VM's, such as:
  • A VM with my default development environment on a Linux installation (if something goes terribly wrong I can simply recover the VM with a backup)
  • A VM for experimentation (a sandboxed VM that can not harm my regular work)
  • A VM with a Linux desktop for personal use (email, browsing the web, etc.)
  • A VM with Windows for my wife (don't ask)
  • A VM for home automation software
  • A VM that runs simple services (database, webserver, nextcloud, etc.)
After some research I discovered proxmox. I like what I have read about proxmox so far but I have a few remaining questions.

I would like to be able to connect to the VMs from a thin-client and have the experience as if the remote desktop ran on the thin-client. The experience should be fluent without hickups.

Questions:
  1. How can I work on the remote virtualized desktops on the server from an other machine? I have seen people use citrix receiver with xen which appeared to work good. What would be the proxmox equivalent for the citrix receiver?
  2. Can I achieve a fluent experience on simple consumer grade hardware if two users would be using the above mentioned Linux and Windows desktop VMs simultaneously? (When I am developping and my wife is working on her Windows machine I would hate to see freezes or hickups)