[SOLVED] SPICE: Unable To connect to the graphic server

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by riptide_wave, Oct 17, 2013.

  1. riptide_wave

    riptide_wave Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello, I currently have a 3 server proxmox cluster and I am completely unable to use SPICE on any VM, on any node. The problem is when I download the spiceproxy.vv file and run it, VirtViewer gives me the following error: Unable to connect to the graphic server "file location/name". I checked and made sure all servers, and my desktop have proper synced clocks, and they do. I even tested this on 3 other windows computers and they all have the same issue. I checked my firewall, and made sure the ports for SPICE are open.

    Maybe some of my debug information may help? I would really like to get this fixed.

    pveversion
    Code:
    root@Node-1-01:~# pveversion -vproxmox-ve-2.6.32: 3.1-113 (running kernel: 2.6.32-25-pve)
    pve-manager: 3.1-17 (running version: 3.1-17/eb90521d)
    pve-kernel-2.6.32-24-pve: 2.6.32-111
    pve-kernel-2.6.32-25-pve: 2.6.32-113
    pve-kernel-2.6.32-23-pve: 2.6.32-109
    lvm2: 2.02.98-pve4
    clvm: 2.02.98-pve4
    corosync-pve: 1.4.5-1
    openais-pve: 1.1.4-3
    libqb0: 0.11.1-2
    redhat-cluster-pve: 3.2.0-2
    resource-agents-pve: 3.9.2-4
    fence-agents-pve: 4.0.0-2
    pve-cluster: 3.0-7
    qemu-server: 3.1-5
    pve-firmware: 1.0-23
    libpve-common-perl: 3.0-6
    libpve-access-control: 3.0-6
    libpve-storage-perl: 3.0-13
    pve-libspice-server1: 0.12.4-2
    vncterm: 1.1-4
    vzctl: 4.0-1pve3
    vzprocps: 2.0.11-2
    vzquota: 3.1-2
    pve-qemu-kvm: 1.4-17
    ksm-control-daemon: 1.1-1
    glusterfs-client: 3.4.0-2
    spiceproxy --debug
    Code:
    root@Node-1-01:/usr/bin# spiceproxy --debug699701: ACCEPT FH12 CONN1
    close connection AnyEvent::Handle=HASH(0x32c7bc0)
    699701: CLOSE FH12 CONN0
    remote-viewer.exe "spiceproxy.vv" --debug
    Code:
    C:\Program Files\VirtViewer\bin>remote-viewer.exe "D:\Downloads\spiceproxy.vv" --debugC:\Program Files\VirtViewer\bin>(remote-viewer.exe:2304): remote-viewer-DEBUG: I
    nsert window 0 0000000001F3D000
    (remote-viewer.exe:2304): remote-viewer-DEBUG: fullscreen display 0: 0
    (remote-viewer.exe:2304): remote-viewer-DEBUG: Opening display to D:\Downloads\spiceproxy.vv
    (remote-viewer.exe:2304): remote-viewer-DEBUG: Guest D:\Downloads\spiceproxy.vvhas a spice display
    (remote-viewer.exe:2304): remote-viewer-DEBUG: After open connection callback fd=-1
    (remote-viewer.exe:2304): remote-viewer-DEBUG: Opening connection to display atD:\Downloads\spiceproxy.vv
    (remote-viewer.exe:2304): remote-viewer-DEBUG: New spice channel 0000000001F94F40 SpiceMainChannel 0
    (remote-viewer.exe:2304): remote-viewer-DEBUG: Checking full screen auto-conf(remote-viewer.exe:2304): remote-viewer-DEBUG: auto-conf disabled
    (remote-viewer.exe:2304): remote-viewer-DEBUG: notebook show status 0000000001F3C150
    (remote-viewer.exe:2304): GSpice-WARNING **: HTTP proxy connection failed: 401 invalid ticket
    (remote-viewer.exe:2304): remote-viewer-DEBUG: main channel: failed to connect
    (remote-viewer.exe:2304): remote-viewer-DEBUG: Disposing window 0000000001F3D000
    (remote-viewer.exe:2304): remote-viewer-DEBUG: Set connect info: (null),(null),(null),-1,(null),(null),(null),0
    /etc/pve ls -l
    Code:
    root@Node-1-01:/etc/pve# ls -l
    total 5
    -rw-r----- 1 root www-data  451 Sep 21 19:58 authkey.pub
    -rw-r----- 1 root www-data 1680 Sep 21 21:14 cluster.conf
    -rw-r----- 1 root www-data  294 Sep 21 20:16 cluster.conf.old
    -rw-r----- 1 root www-data   16 Sep 21 19:53 datacenter.cfg
    lrwxr-x--- 1 root www-data    0 Dec 31  1969 local -> nodes/Node-1-01
    drwxr-x--- 2 root www-data    0 Sep 21 19:58 nodes
    lrwxr-x--- 1 root www-data    0 Dec 31  1969 openvz -> nodes/Node-1-01/openvz
    drwx------ 2 root www-data    0 Sep 21 19:58 priv
    -rw-r----- 1 root www-data 1350 Sep 21 19:58 pve-root-ca.pem
    -rw-r----- 1 root www-data 1679 Sep 21 19:58 pve-www.key
    lrwxr-x--- 1 root www-data    0 Dec 31  1969 qemu-server -> nodes/Node-1-01/qemu-server
    -rw-r----- 1 root www-data  492 Sep 21 20:21 storage.cfg
    -rw-r----- 1 root www-data  404 Oct 14 12:36 user.cfg
    -rw-r----- 1 root www-data  405 Sep 30 19:20 vzdump.cron
    
    /etc/pve/priv ls -l
    Code:
    root@Node-1-01:/etc/pve/priv# ls -l
    total 3
    -rw------- 1 root www-data 1679 Sep 21 19:58 authkey.key
    -rw------- 1 root www-data 1583 Oct 10 23:21 authorized_keys
    -rw------- 1 root www-data 2652 Oct 10 23:21 known_hosts
    drwx------ 2 root www-data    0 Sep 21 20:17 lock
    -rw------- 1 root www-data 1679 Sep 21 19:58 pve-root-ca.key
    -rw------- 1 root www-data    3 Oct 10 23:14 pve-root-ca.srl
    -rw------- 1 root www-data   70 Sep 21 20:17 shadow.cfg
    
    I thought it might be my SSL certs, so I ran pvecm updatecerts -force, but I still have this issue.
     
    #1 riptide_wave, Oct 17, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2013
  2. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,433
    Likes Received:
    301
    Tickets are only valid for 30 seconds, so you need to start remote-viewer automatically after download.

    What remote-viewer version do you use?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. riptide_wave

    riptide_wave Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well the issue happens even when I click the file instantly after download, I just show the debug output above in case it has any helpful information. I have tested this with virt-viewer-x64-0.5.7.msi and virt-viewer-x64-0.5.6.msi on multiple machines, and all give the same exact error.
     
  4. riptide_wave

    riptide_wave Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    For a test, I created a VM in my cluster with proxmox, and then in that proxmox VM I created a VM with SPICE as the display, and I was able to successfully connect to it. So, it seems there is something wrong with my proxmox cluster, not my computers.
     
  5. riptide_wave

    riptide_wave Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    Did some more testing, even when directly connected to the server LAN, I am still unable to use SPICE, which gives the same error proving it is not a network or firewall issue. Also, my server and system clock have the exact same time/date in the system clock, so that is not the issue. Any advice?
     
  6. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,433
    Likes Received:
    301
    Any hints in /var/log/syslog?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. mo_

    mo_ Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    3
    you could try to take proxmox/ticketing out of the equation to see whether or not it actually is a networking/firewall issue. To do that:

    a) set the display device of the VM youre testing with to Default (NOT spice!), and then
    b) add the following line to your /etc/pve/qemu-server/VMID.conf (may or may not wish to change port/password)

    Code:
    args: -spice port=12345,password=ANYTHING -device virtio-serial,id=spice,bus=pci.0,addr=0x9 -chardev spicevmc,id=vdagent,name=vdagent
    
    then after starting up the vm, just use virt viewer to connect to it using the URI spice://<IP>:<PORT>
     
  8. riptide_wave

    riptide_wave Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    Nothing that I can see. :(

    Just tested it this way, and it seems to work perfect... So this leads me to think its an issue with spiceproxy, because it didn't work when I was directly connected to the server LAN.
     
  9. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,433
    Likes Received:
    301
    What kind of ssl certificated do you use (default ones)?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. riptide_wave

    riptide_wave Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am using the default ones that were generated when I installed 3.1.
     
  11. riptide_wave

    riptide_wave Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    This issue was resolved with the recent proxmox updates as of 11/9/2013, consider the issue solved! :)
     
  12. jonc

    jonc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think this has been resolved. My Proxmox host has been updated as of right now and I'm still unable to connect to any VM via Spice. I've tried multiple Windows 7 systems and I get the same thing every time.
     
  13. mlanner

    mlanner Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dietmar,

    You're asking: "What kind of ssl certificated do you use (default ones)?"

    I'm running 3.4-6/102d4547 and I've got commercial certs applied. Why would anything other than the stock self-signed certs be a problem? Or maybe I'm misinterpreting the reason for your question? In any case, I'm seeing the same issue as the OP.
     
  14. Nikhil

    Nikhil New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks and its working for me like below.

    spice://proxmox server ipaddress :7200

    Can we do like below?

    spice://vm ip address :7200 ?


    Thanks
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice