setup open vswitch

Airidas

Jul 31, 2014
Hello guys,

I'm new in openvswitch. Please help me set up openvswitch.

I have 1 host with 2 physical network adapters and 3 virtual machines.
Now network setup is:
bond0 type=linux bond port/slaves=eth0 eth1 no IP address
vmbr0 type=linux bridge port/slaves=bond0 IP address=192.168.1.12

Virtual machines should communicate each other through virtual switch and communicate with real network.

How to configure the network?

Thanks.

Last edited:
Hello Airidas

1. install openvswitch - important: /etc/apt/sources.list must contain "deb http://download.proxmox.com/debian wheezy pvetest" - by

Code:
apt-get install openvswitch-switch

Following steps by WEB-GUI:

2. If you continue using existing physical NICs at host and IP address: remove IP-address and ports from vmbr0

3. create an ovs bridge e.g. vmbr1(no ports for the moment) and assign the desired IP address, probably 192.168.1.12, activate autostart too

4. create an ovs bond with slaves eth0 eth1 (I suppose) and select as bridge vmbr1

5. assign the virtual NICs in the VMs to vmbr1

6. reboot

You can verify after reboot the proper configuration by

Code:
ovs-vsctl show

should show your configuration (bridge, ports), version must be 2.0.90 or higher

Kind regards

Mr.Holmes

Last edited:
2. If you continue using existing physical NICs at host and IP address: remove IP-address and ports from vmbr0
3. create an ovs bridge e.g. vmbr1(no ports for the moment) and assign the desired IP address, probably 192.168.1.12, activate autostart too
4. create an ovs bond with slaves eth0 eth1 (I suppose) and select as bridge vmbr1
5. assign the virtual NICs in the VMs to vmbr1
6. reboot
could you please explain why doing a ovs bridge first and then a ovs bond.

woulden't be enough to do a ovs bond and add the eth0 and eth1?

Thanks for your teaching
have a nice day
vinc

could you please explain why doing a ovs bridge first and then a ovs bond.