Setting Up Proxmox intefaces for Sophos Bridge (L2) firewall

scoobyscrappy

Dec 12, 2014
Hello,

I am a newbie to Proxmox VE.

I have two on-board NICs and 1 usb (AX88178) nic which Proxmox recognizes as eth0, eth1 and eth2. As default, Proxmox sets up the management IP address on vmbr0 with bridge port eth0.

I want to create a Sophos UTM L2 (Bridge) firewall as a VM on Proxmox using all three NICs. On Sophos, the management IP address is assigned to vmbr0. When I convert all three to a bridge ethernet, I lose management connectivity to Sophos as well as Proxmox.

How should I setup the Proxmox interfaces where I can use the Proxmox management IP address on vmbr0 and setup all three interfaces on Sophos as bridge ports? I will be using eth0 port for both Proxmox and Sophos management IP addresses.

Thanks in advance.
Jeff

Hello, Jeff

I am a newbie to Proxmox VE.

I have two on-board NICs and 1 usb (AX88178) nic which Proxmox recognizes as eth0, eth1 and eth2. As default, Proxmox sets up the management IP address on vmbr0 with bridge port eth0.

I want to create a Sophos UTM L2 (Bridge) firewall as a VM on Proxmox using all three NICs. On Sophos, the management IP address is assigned to vmbr0. When I convert all three to a bridge ethernet, I lose management connectivity to Sophos as well as Proxmox.

How should I setup the Proxmox interfaces where I can use the Proxmox management IP address on vmbr0 and setup all three interfaces on Sophos as bridge ports? I will be using eth0 port for both Proxmox and Sophos management IP addresses.

Do you mean one bridge? If don´t want to have bonding (and you did not mention it) you will need three bridges; each connected to a physical NIC and assigned to one of th three VM virtual NICs too.

Can be I misunderstand something - if this is the case post a small diagram as well as /etc/network/interfaces.

Kind regards

Mr.Holmes

Hi Mr. Holmes,

Thanks for replying to my post.